Afraid to pop more seeds? 3 Pieces of Seed-Popping Advice From An Experienced Grower

Feel Confident Starting More Seeds

Ben Owens
2 min readJan 29, 2024

--

This weekend, I caught up with my soil mentor, Weed Shanty.

Between dabs, the topic of popping seeds came up.

Shanty’s process allows him to hunt more gear, faster.

Let me back up:

I have a weird fear of losing genetics.

Specifically:

I have a fear of losing keeper cuts from packs I haven’t popped yet.

It’s a crippling fear in a lot of ways:

  • I hoard clones & cuts
  • I hoard unopened, unpopped packs
  • I won’t flip plants without clones of every plant

It’s something I’m working on.

So, when I see a grower like Shanty pop full packs at a time, my first question is always:

How do you keep clones of everything until you make selections?

Because, if you’ve never hunted for a keeper, it can take months and years.

--

--

Ben Owens

Stop buying, start growing. | 🌱 Hobby Grower | Premium Ghostwriter for Cannabis Founders | DM for inquiries