I’ve never grown 3 a light.

Here’s why.

Ben Owens
3 min readFeb 24, 2024

--

4 plants in the Hobby Hunt 4x4 Tent, hardly a 3lb per light crop.

I’ve never grown 3 a light.

Not something most growers admit.

I was on a call today with a hemp facility owner in South Florida.

The owner and I were going back and forth about a variety of topics, both about strategy and content, as well as growing itself.

And then he said:

“We’re not growing for yields, we’re growing for quality.”

To which I replied:

“Yeah, I’ve never grown 3 a light.”

I could’ve punched myself.

For those that don’t spend their days around growers, “3 a light” is somewhat of an arbitrary old school metric for how well you can grow, representing the ability to grow 3 lbs per light in your grow.

For hobby growers in single-light tents like me, you could also say “3 per tent.”

In many grower circles, admitting you’ve never hit this # would be taboo.

And here I was bragging about it.

The f*ck was I thinking?

Why was I proud of that?

2 reasons:

--

--

Ben Owens

Stop buying, start growing. | 🌱 Hobby Grower | Premium Ghostwriter for Cannabis Founders | DM for inquiries